Getting to Whistler

26 11 2012

Hey

I found out about snowboarding making it into the 2014 Para Olympics in May of 2012. With this news I knew I would have to increase my training in order to make the team and earn the right to compete for Canada. My training increased and that June I flew to Whistler, British Columbia to try out for the Para Olympic team. All my hard work paid off when I heard the news that I had made the team and would to representing Canada at the 2014 Para Olympic Games.

With this news I knew there was going to have to be some major changes in my life. As a snowboarder these were exciting changes. I decided that it would be necessary to spend the 2013 snowboard season in Whistler to train with the team. Being in Whistler would allow me the opportunity to train full time as well as be close to my coach and teammates. My Plan is to be on the snow everyday and in the gym 5 days a week.

My Plan is to move to Whistler at the end of December. This way I can find a place to stay and possibly a part time job. I plan on being able to work 15-20 hours a week with my training schedule. This will allow me to have a little spending money along with having staff housing.

I am excited for the 2013 season and hoping to improve with my snowboarding skills. None of this would be possible if i didn’t have the support of my family, friends, and sponsors.

Thank you everyone!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

